Isle NotchNook vs boring.notch vs Alcove

NotchNook vs boring.notch vs Alcove: which notch app fits you

Three of the best-known apps for the MacBook notch, compared on what decides the choice: what you pay, which macOS you need, how it installs and what it does.

We make Isle, a fourth notch app, so read this knowing that. It is at the end, not in the ranking. Every fact about the three apps comes from the source linked in its column, as of October 9, 2026. Spot an error? Write to contact@islenotch.com.

The three side by side

As of October 2026.

NotchNookboring.notchAlcove
PriceUS$ 3 a month, or US$ 25 one-time; each license activates on 2 MacsFree, with donationsUS$ 14.99 one-time
Trial48 hours, every featureNot neededNot stated
Open sourceNot statedYes, GPL-3.0Not stated
macOSmacOS 14.6 or later, Apple silicon or IntelmacOS 14 or later, Apple silicon or IntelmacOS 15 or later
InstallDownload from getnotchnook.com (relaunched in October 2026, after weeks when the old site and license server were down)DMG or Homebrew. Not notarized: macOS warns on first launch, and the README gives a Terminal workaroundDownload from tryalcove.com
MusicYesYes, with a visualizerYes, as a live activity
File shelfYesYes, with AirDropNot stated
CalendarYes, plus notes and tasksYesNot stated
Volume and brightness HUDNot statedYes, replaces itYes, customizable
Lock screen widgetsNot statedOn the roadmapYes
Sourcegetnotchnook.com, iMore, MacStoriesGitHubtryalcove.com

“Not stated” means our sources didn’t say, not that the app lacks it. Names are trademarks of their owners; we are not affiliated with them.

NotchNook vs boring.notch

This is the choice most people search for, and it comes down to money against polish. boring.notch is free and open source, and covers the basics well: music with a visualizer, a calendar, a file shelf with AirDrop and a new volume HUD. The catch is the install: it isn’t notarized, so macOS blocks it on first launch until you approve it (Homebrew installs reportedly skip that). NotchNook is the one the press reviewed (MacStories, iMore), installs like any app, and you either rent it monthly or buy it for 2 Macs. It was offline for weeks before relaunching in October 2026, so check that checkout works before you count on it.

NotchNook vs Alcove

Both are paid. Alcove is a one-time US$ 14.99 and leans on looks: fluid transitions, live activities, customizable HUDs and lock screen widgets. It needs macOS 15. NotchNook leans on utility, with its file shelf and shortcuts, and costs more up front (US$ 25 for 2 Macs) unless you rent it at US$ 3 a month. It runs on macOS 14.6.

boring.notch vs Alcove

Free against paid, again. If lock screen widgets or a polished HUD matter, Alcove has them today; boring.notch lists lock screen widgets on its roadmap. If you would rather read the code, or you are on macOS 14, boring.notch is the one that runs.

Quick picks

A fourth option: Isle (ours)

If you use Claude Code, Codex or other AI coding tools, none of the three shows them. Isle does: rings for how much of each AI usage limit is left, what each session is doing, and a way to answer it from the notch. It also has music, a timer and Pomodoro, a file shelf with AirDrop and screenshot annotation. US$ 14.99 once for 3 Macs, after a 3-day trial. It needs macOS 26, which leaves it out for anyone on 14 or 15. For a five-app table, see NotchNook alternatives compared; on a Mac without a notch, see which Macs have one.

Try Isle free for 3 days

Every feature works for 3 days, no account needed. Then US$ 14.99 once, for up to 3 Macs. Requires macOS 26.